ARTICLE I RECOGNITION

1.1 The Board of Directors of UConn Health (hereinafter "Board") recognizes the University of Connecticut Health Center Chapter of the American Association of University Professors (hereinafter "Union" or "AAUP") as the exclusive bargaining representative for all faculty at UConn Health who are full time or who work a full-time equivalent equal to or greater than twenty percent (0.2 FTE) and who are not excluded in the following paragraph, for the purpose of negotiating with respect to wages, hours and other conditions of employment. Hereinafter for the purposes of collective bargaining, faculty who are not excluded pursuant to this Article are referred to as "faculty," or "members," or "members of the bargaining unit."

Members of the faculty who hold the following positions are excluded from the bargaining unit: Deans, Senior Associate Deans, Associate Deans, Assistant Deans, the Chief of Medical Staff, Chief Medical Officer, Chief Quality Officer, the Faculty Representative to the UCH Board of Directors, the Special Assistant to the Vice President for Health Affairs, Dental School Division Chairs, Department Heads, Type II Center Directors, the Director of Health Affairs Policy and Planning, Director of Faculty Consulting, and retired re-employed employees.

1.2 The parties agree that the list of excluded faculty positions may change from time to time. The exclusion of new position titles from the faculty unit shall be preceded by discussion with the AAUP. Any impasse in this area shall be submitted to the State Labor Relations Board for resolution.